Players with a Six-wicket Haul in IPL
2 mins read

Players with a Six-wicket Haul in IPL

In white-ball cricket, six wickets in a match is a fantastic achievement. Only a few players have wreaked havoc on batters in limited-overs cricket. IPL, too, has witnessed six-wicket hauls. This blog will look at the three bowlers with a six-wicket haul in IPL. Will there be a six-wicket haul in the IPL 2024 season? Make your predictions on a betting platform with the best cricket betting odds and win big daily during IPL.

3 Players with Six-wicket Hauls in IPL 

Former Pakistan pacer Sohail Tanvir was the first bowler to take six wickets in IPL. The left-arm pacer clinched 6/14 against Chennai Super Kings in the 2008 season. Adam Zampa and Alzarri Joseph, too, have registered a six-wicket haul in the IPL. Surprisingly, no Indian player has managed six wickets or more in an IPL match. 

Sohail Tanvir – 6/14

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals met in IPL 2008 match 24. Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the Chennai Super Kings captain, while Rajasthan Royals were led by the late legendary spinner Shane Warne. 

Chennai Super Kings won the toss and chose to bat first in Jaipur. Sohail Tanvir started to pick up wickets for Rajasthan Royals regularly as the innings of the Chennai Super Kings folded for 109. He picked up six wickets for 14 runs. His first victim was Parthiv Patel, followed by Stephen Fleming, Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan, Albie Morkel, Muttiah Muralitharan, and Makhaya Ntini.

Adam Zampa – 6/19

It was the 40th match of the IPL 2016 season, played between the Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rising Pune Supergiants. Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and elected to bat first in Visakhapatnam. Sunrisers Hyderabad, while batting first, got completely decimated by Rising Pune Supergiants leg spinner Adam Zampa as he picked up six wickets for 19 runs. 

Zampa’s six victims were Yuvraj Singh, Kane Williamson, Moise Henriques, Yuvraj Singh, Deepak Hooda, Naman Ojha, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. His powerful spin bowling display restricted SRH to a modest total of 137. However, the Supergiants lost the match by four runs. 

Alzarri Joseph – 6/12

It was the 19th match of the IPL 2019 as Sunrisers Hyderabad took on Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians were asked to bat first and posted 136 runs for the loss of seven wickets. While chasing, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s batters struggled against Alzarri Joseph. 

The West Indies pacer dismissed David Warner, Vijay Shankar, Deepak Hooda, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Siddarth Kaul. He troubled all the batters through his tight line, length, and cutters. He bowled a phenomenal spell as he took six wickets for just 12 runs in 3.4 overs – the best bowling figures in IPL history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *